#WORD2016 and #VERSE2016

What a year 2015 was for me and my family! My #WORD2015, BELIEVE, was somethijng that God challenged me to do in many spaces. At the core, I needed to BELIEVE Whose I was in order to move into the LIFE that God desired for me. It was when I didn’t BELIEVE that I “got into trouble” with doubts, fear, and anxiety. My Life Group from Gateway Church read and studied Neil T. Anderson’s “Victory over the Darkness,” which discusses your true identity in Christ. I hadn’t realized how many lies I had become accustomed to believing, and that allowing those lies to be present in my thinking robbed me of the TRUE abundant life Jesus promises in:

 John 10:10 (AMP)10 The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance [to the full, till it overflows].

This year, prompted by our Worship Director at Gateway Church, I prayed and asked the Holy Spirit to please give me my #WORD2016, and the word SURRENDER immediately came to mind. I asked the Holy Spirit, “Did You just say, SURRENDER?” Is that my #WORD2016? Funny thing, the next worship song was, “I Surrender”….kid you not! I cracked up inside, and wondered if that was confirmation of my word for me. As I sang the song, and listened more, I believe it was confirmation, because I love the truths of this song. Its chorus says, “I Surrender, I Surrender, I want to know You more, I want to know You more.” For me, SURRENDER to Jesus means to be with Him more and more, and in being with Him more, then I’ll be more willing to do whatever He asks of me. SURRENDER means to truly die to myself, my dreams, my desires…and to humbly ask Him, “Lord what would you have me to do?” From the dictionary, it’s yielding one self to another. That is my #PRAYER2016…that I would yield to Jesus. And like the “I Surrender” song says: “Lord have Your way, Lord have Your way in me!” My life is His, because He died for me…I will live for Him. My #VERSE2016 sums it up perfectly!

Luke 9:23 Amplified Bible (AMP)23 And He was saying to them all, “If anyone wishes to follow Me [as My disciple], he must deny himself [set aside selfish interests], and take up his cross daily [expressing a willingness to endure whatever may come] and follow Me [believing in Me, conforming to My example in living and, if need be, suffering or perhaps dying because of faith in Me].

 

 

Leave a Reply

