#VERSE2015 and #WORD2015

I find it interesting that the last blog post I wrote was exactly around this time to highlight my verse and word for 2014. Was there nothing ‘blog-worthy’ that happened last year? Or was I just not intentional about writing here? Nevertheless, I write today.

Before launching into the new word and verse, I find it helpful to review last year’s: my #WORD2014 was ABIDE and my #VERSE2014 was 2 Peter 1:3 (NLT): By his divine power, God has given us everything we need for living a godly life. We have received all of this by coming to know him, the one who called us to himself by means of his marvelous glory and excellence. Learning to ABIDE in God and to stay with Him in intentional ways this last year has been challenging and also very rewarding! It was as if Jesus was teaching me, “as you ABIDE in Me and spend quiet, solitude time with Me, you will start to truly believe the truths of the 2 Peter passage.” I have all that I need in Jesus, and He has had me on an amazing journey! I certainly intend to continue to ABIDE this year, too. For me, these annual words and verses are to be continually valued and practiced.

Around Thanksgiving I started praying to God to reveal to me His #WORD2015 for me. I prayed that the Holy Spirit would give me a sensitivity to His voice so that I would discern what the word would be. Over and over, in different prayer times, I kept hearing the word BELIEVE. I sat with the word for several days and kept asking for His confirmation. God was probably amused that I kept asking for confirmation, when the fact that I kept sensing that BELIEVE was the word should have been confirmation enough. Ha! Once I started to believe that the word was BELIEVE, I kept finding it everywhere.  Of course, my sensitivity to the word heightened my awareness of the word. But I think the awareness of a word or verse is the point. Each time I see BELIEVE or I see my #VERSE2015 it will draw my attention to God and remind me of what He’s growing, molding, and/or pruning in me.

To find my #VERSE2015, this year I took the #WORD2015 that God had revealed and I did a word search for BELIEVE on www.biblegateway.com. In the New Living Translation alone, over 400 references were listed. And yes, I looked at all the verses. I wanted to be sure to find the verse that I sensed the Holy Spirit was directing for me to find. After reading the verses that specifically had the word BELIEVE in them (the search included verses that had “believers, believed, etc.”), I felt drawn to Ephesians 1:19-20 (NLT, emphasis mine): 19 I also pray that you will understand the incredible greatness of God’s power for us who BELIEVE him. This is the same mighty power 20 that raised Christ from the dead and seated him in the place of honor at God’s right hand in the heavenly realms. Wow! That’s a verse pregnant with meaning! One that will surely take a full year to understand and apply to different areas of my life. I’d like to say each area of my life, but I have to be truthful…I sense it’s going to be difficult to BELIEVE in those few areas of my life that I’ve come accustomed to walk in my own strength and not in the power that God affords me through Christ. 

So what in particular is God wanting me to BELIEVE? Where am I lacking in my BELIEF? How does BELIEVING God change the way I do life? Where is my understanding of God’s power, lacking? What does God’s power in my life mean for me personally? I think these questions and many more are what He will show me this year. Looking forward to another adventure with Jesus by my side!

Leave a Reply

