My Identity Song – “For Your Splendor”

A week and a half after God had shown me my “shadow tree” at Town Lake, He switched from talking to me about my shadow side, to informing me more about my TRUE identity in Him. Of course, wouldn’t you know it…my identity had to do with a tree.

It was Thursday, 10/10/13 and I was running/walking with Him on Town Lake. I had my iPhone on Worship Playlist, Shuffle Mode. I was really enjoying the songs that He was singing over me as I ran and walked. Some of the truths in the songs were challenging, some of the songs were simply encouraging, etc. I got to the point in my run that I typically stop to stretch. I was not at all prepared for what God was about to sing over me. It was a song that I knew, but I hadn’t realized it’s significance until that moment. The words of “For Your Splendor” began playing and I was overwhelmed by God’s love for me. I had to go and sit down, overlooking the beautiful city of Austin, and weep while God sang what was TRUE about me through the words of this song. As I type this post, I’m still crying about it. It’s so dear of our loving Father to share His unfailing, unconditional love with us, the faithless.

You see, at the Destiny Project retreat, part of the work you do is to discover your “Identity Statement.” It’s no easy task to write an identity statement, but the retreat leaders give us four days of coaching to help us arrive at one. And we’re given opportunity to be still and to hear from God and His Holy Spirit about who He says we are, how He’s created us, and what He says is our true identity. I left the retreat with a sufficient, but small outline of an identity statement [I am the strong, beautiful tree that nourishes and bears fruit sharing the joy of Christ]. The leaders assured me that it was a good place to start, and that God would continue to communicate more when I was ready. They were right!

This video is a slide show of the words of Christy Nockels’ song “For Your Splendor” and it’s what God says is TRUE about me. He was confirming that what I heard at the retreat was my identity statement, so I need to start living life from that place. With His perfect grace, love and shepherding, He is showing me how “TO BE” the tree. That’s hard for someone as energetic and feisty as me, but it’s so worth being who He created me to be…that’s the ABUNDANT LIFE, Jesus promises in John 10:10 Amplified Bible (AMP) 10 The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows). This day was FULL of HIS ABUNDANCE. It’s no wonder that it was 10/10/13.

2 thoughts on “My Identity Song – “For Your Splendor”

  1. And today, he sang this song over me through you!
    Thank you!
    “A Christian is not simply a person who is forgiven and goes to heaven. A Christian, in terms of his or her deepest identity, is a saint, a spiritually born child of God, a divine masterpiece, a child of light, a citizen of heaven.” N. Anderson

Leave a Reply

