Our FREEDOM Costs Someone Something

This memorial day weekend I’m reminded that our FREEDOM does in fact cost someone something. And it makes me want to stop and thank God for those who have gone before to pave the way for the peace, freedom and liberties we enjoy because of their sacrifices. In my prayer time this morning, I was prompted by the Holy Spirit to pray for those men and women who’ve gone before, and to pray for those who are widows now because of the sacrifice of their loved ones. May they feel an extra dose of comfort from the Holy Spirit, and more love from those around them.

It also makes me think to pray for the many men and women who are on the front lines now serving our country and providing us the freedom we enjoy today. Specifically, will you please join me in praying for Mari’s husband (his name escapes my memory now, but God knows him)? He is serving in Iraq and according to his wife he has to dodge *fireworks* (they don’t call it gun fire or bombs) to get to work each morning. Pray for Mari and their children (I believe they have two) as they wait for his safe return, which is set to be in the fall.

Let’s pray for our veterans (those who have been returning in this recent war and those from the previous wars). Certainly many of them are still reeling from the affects of war: the physical, spiritual and emotional wounds. Specifically, join me in praying for a dear friend of our family, Teo Ruedas. Pray that his faith in God would continue to flourish and grow and that God would continue to multiply the fruit that can already be seen. Here’s his POWERFUL story that Fox News Austin ran: Veterans Video. Lord give us all the eyes to see the military and to show them our love and appreciation for their service, and help us know how to love their loved ones!

And last, but certainly not least, THANK YOU, JESUS! You paid the highest price to bring me FREEDOM FROM THE BONDAGE OF SIN & THE WRATH OF GOD! Because I believe in You and the work You did on the cross I’m a part of Your royal family and I’ll be with You in heaven forever and ever! God’s word says it SO POWERFULLY: 1 Timothy 2:5-7 (New Living Translation) 5 For there is only one God and one Mediator who can reconcile God and humanity—the man Christ Jesus. 6 He gave his life to purchase freedom for everyoneThis is the message God gave to the world at just the right time. 7 And I have been chosen as a preacher and apostle to teach the Gentiles this message about faith and truth. I’m not exaggerating—just telling the truth.

Leave a Reply

