A New Way of Life

You know it’s getting close to that time of year for New Year’s Resolutions and I, personally do enjoy setting some goals for myself  each year. And in preparing to write these resolutions, I must admit I revert to my good ole’ college days at Baylor University and my Welcome Week Wheel to be sure to set goals/resolutions for every area of my life. For those BU Alumni you know what I’m talking about, and for those of you who aren’t alumni here’s a quick snap shot from the BU web site: The journey includes four days full of activities that introduce you to life at Baylor. Students are encouraged to grow physically, intellectually, socially and spiritually–the four aspects of the Welcome Week Wheel. So with my Welcome Week Wheel as my guide I set goals for those four areas of my life.

My spiritual goals vary from year to year, but as I considered past goals, they usually contained something about reading my Bible and being in prayer everyday. But something really struck me this year. I want those disciplines to be so a part of my daily life that they’re not really a resolution anymore. You know??!! I just auto-magically (by God’s power and Holy Spirit) rise early to meet with my amazing triune God: God my Heavenly Father, God the Son who is my Lord and Savior and God the Holy Spirit who is my comfort and guide for my life. I’m so thankful to God that He’s starting to make these disciplines a true part of my everyday of life. Here’s how it all began…

In late October, my husband Charles went on a 9-nights and 10-days journey to South Korea. It was the longest time he has been a way from our young family. Our six year old daughter was pretty bummed that her daddy was going to be gone that long and she had already begun to vocalize her discontent before he left the country. Our sweet son who’s two years old would be easier in dealing with emotions but his busyness would be a challenge for me. I knew I was going to need God-sized abilities to handle the tasks for this week and some days! So, God blessed me by waking me early while Charles was gone. I found myself rising between the hours of 4-5AM to get my tank filled with God. Some days it was out of sheer desperation and stress. But nevertheless God was faithful to give me just what I needed for that day. And as a bonus, after I met with Him, I was able to get lunches made, clothes washed, things organized so I wouldn’t be a stressful Mommy running about with my two children. Looking back now, Charles going to South Korea is the best thing that could have ever happened to my spiritual life!!

Since then, I’ve continued to ask God to faithfully wake me in the morning. My commitment to God, is that when He wakes me, I will rise and quickly meet with Him. Sometimes it’s just in my closet so that I don’t wake anyone. And sometimes I don’t even go to the bathroom first…I just want to meet with Him above all else. I know myself, if I start doing anything else, my time will end up being wasted on doing chores that honestly have no eternal value. I must say God’s sweetest, honest and humbling revelations to me have come recently in my closet. There’s no computer there to suck me in and no TV and I can ignore the dirty clothes hamper. It’s just Him and I and His Word, the Bible.

Wow, and all I did was give Him about an hour more of my life and what has He given me? SO MUCH MORE….a new way of life that has brought so much blessing, fulfillment, and purpose. Jesus said it so powerfully in John 14:6: “I am the way, and the truth, and the life…”, and my response to His words: Jesus I want you to be my way, my truth, and my life!

One thought on “A New Way of Life

Leave a Reply

