An old song takes on new meaning

What a beautiful sight to wake up to- my Christmas tree’s lights! How did this happen you ask? I decided to sleep on my couch last night. You may ask, “Uh oh, were you in trouble with your hubby last night?” Ha! No not exactly. I had a goal of finishing my Christmas card addressing and worked until my eyes wouldn’t stay open. So instead of waking my ‘not feeling so well’ husband by getting in the bed in the middle of the night, I decided that the couch with a warm blanket and the company of our sweet old lab would be just fine. Some of you are wondering, ” So did l get the cards all done?” No, but this morning’s God-revelation blessed me so much more!

When I saw the Christmas tree lights it brought a beautiful old worship song to mind, “Here I am to Worship.” For those of you not familiar with the song’s verse, it says: Light of the world, You stepped down into darkness. Opened my eyes let me see. Beauty that made this heart adore You. Hope of a life spent with You. The bright lights of the tree reminded me of the light Jesus showed humanity during His life on earth. This Light showed the beautiful love of God and all the fullness of God in a human body on earth. It can be hard to get your head around this fact, but it’s true: while on earth, Jesus was fully God and fully man. That sentence alone could be a multiple blog subject, but I’ll get back to the original post that God has laid on my heart and mind to share.

In John 8:12 Jesus said to a large group of people in Jerusalem, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” Whoever follows Jesus will have the light of life? What does it mean to have the light of life in my life, and what would that look like practically? And is this light of life, the light of Jesus. And is the light of Jesus the character qualities of God shining in me? I think yes. So how did Jesus live His human life? He lived it perfectly, and everything He did – His actions, His words, His thoughts, and His intentions brought praise to God the Father. So how am I to do the same thing? How is Jesus’ light in me to shine in this dark world? Jesus answers the question beautifully in a sermon found in Matthew 5:16, “In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” Here are some quick observations: the light of Jesus, in my life, is to shine before others. The light of Jesus in me is to praise my Father in heaven. The good deeds I accomplish, with the light of Jesus inside of me, are to praise my Father in heaven. The New American Standard Bible (NAS) translation of this verse says, glorify your Father who is in heaven. What does it really mean to glorify God? But before I find out that answer, what does the word glorify mean? I want to be sure I’m doing it! Webster’s definition of glorify is to make glorious by bestowing honor, praise or admiration. Okay so what does glorious mean? Deserving glory. So my life, with the light of Jesus inside of me, is to bestow honor, praise and admiration to God. And God is to be made glorious! God is the one deserving the glory of my good deeds, because His Holy Spirit in me is the one that helps me shine the light of Jesus. I want my light to shine in that way! I don’t want it to be about me and for people to say: “look how good little Raquel is; she’s such a good Christian.” No, rather I’d want it to be said this way: “Raquel, has a mighty God! Trust me, she couldn’t be doing those things in her own strength. Nuh, uh, she has the light of Jesus inside of her and the power of the Holy Spirit helping her do life!” This new perspective of the light of Jesus shining in me brings me back to the chorus of the worship song “Here I Am To Worship”.

Here I am to worship, Here I am to bow down, Here I am to say that You’re my God. You’re all together lovely, All together worthy, All together wonderful to me. Yes, God here I am this morning. Here I am to do everything today to glorify you (to bring You honor, praise and admiration). I bow down in Your presence, and I lay down my wishes, my goals and my to-do’s and I am here for You. I want to do Your wishes for me, Your goals for me and Your to-do’s for me. You are my God and I want You to be the God of everything in my life today. And Father, may Your light shine in me today so others would see how lovely, how worthy and how wonderful You are to me!

Leave a Reply

